GOVERNOR’S CUP

Events for All Types of Learners

governor'scuplogo-stacked

Kentucky’s Premiere Academic Competition

Governor's Cup encourages depth and breadth of academic knowledge, cultural literacy, teamwork, leadership, creativity, risk assessment, and critical thinking, and provides the fun that comes with being part of a team. Established in 1985, KAAC now serves over 20,000 students and nearly 1200 schools at over 400 competitions each year.

Become a Member

Becoming a member of KAAC provides entry for Governor's Cup. If your school took part in Governor's Cup last year, you've already been invoiced for 2022. Membership fees are $245 in the Elementary division, and $350 in the Middle Grades and High School divisions.

To find out your school's status, use our Contact Form.

Latest News

Update Contact Info

Quick Recall and FPS Certification

New: Participation Confirmation Deadlines

All News

Governor's Cup Events

Governor’s Cup values and rewards varied academic skills and learning styles across a broad range of disciplines and competition formats. Your school can take part in all our events, or selected events. Each student can participate in up to three of the following eight events:

  • Composition - Competitors participate in on-demand writing activities consistent with Kentucky Academic Standards. Each division uses unique writing prompts which provide the necessary information for students to write well-developed essays.
    Elementary students write opinion pieces and complete their essays within 60 minutes. Middle and High School students write in argumentative style and complete their essays within 90 minutes.
  • Quick Recall - Competitors form teams of four for this fast-paced event. Teams listen to a moderator read a question, then try to beat the clock and the opposing team by buzzing in with the correct response. Quick Recall is the only Governor’s Cup event open to the public.
  • Choice of Five Content Assessments - Competitors can participate in multiple-choice exams for Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Language Arts, or Arts and Humanities. Each subject area assessment is broken down further into various content areas for each division.
  • Future Problem Solving - Competitors can participate in Future Problem Solving (FPS) events both as part of Governor’s Cup and separately as FPS Component Events. Certified evaluators read and rank student writing in FPS. Learn more about FPS here.
  • Opportunities to Excel in Every Grade - In the Elementary Division (grades 5 and below), students take part in District and Regional competitions. The Middle Grades Division (grades 6-8) and High School Division (grades 9-12) may participate in District, Regional and State competitions. Students advance from one competition to the next based on their performance in the prior competition.

Key Dates

Elementary

Monday, November 8
Deadline for confirming participation with KAAC

Monday, December 13
Student Entry Period Begins

Wednesday, Jan. 26
Deadline for Entering Student Names Online

Thursday, February 3
District–Coaches’ Planning Meeting

Tuesday, February 8
District–Future Problem Solving & Composition

Saturday, February 12
District–Written Assessment, Quick Recall

Wednesday, February 16
Deadline for Confirming Students and Officials for Regional

Thursday, February 24
Regional–Coaches’ Planning Meeting

Monday, February 28
Regional–Future Problem Solving & Composition

Saturday, March 5
Regional–Written Assessment, Quick Recall

Middle Grades

Monday, October 15
Deadline for confirming participation with KAAC

Monday, December 13
Student Entry Period Begins

Wednesday, January 5
Deadline for Entering Students and Officials

Thursday, January 6
District–Coaches’ Planning Meeting:

Tuesday, January 11
District–Future Problem Solving and Composition

Saturday, January 15
District–Assessment, Quick Recall

Wednesday, January 19
Deadline for Confirming Students and Officials for Regional

Thursday, January 27
Regional–Coaches’ Planning Meeting

Monday, January  31
Regional–Future Problem Solving & Composition

Saturday, February 5
Regional–Assessment, Quick Recall

Wednesday, February 9
Deadline for Confirming Students and Officials for State

March 18-21
State Finals – Galt House, Louisville – Schedule TBA

High School

Monday, October 15
Deadline for confirming participation with KAAC

Monday, December 13
Student Entry Period Begins

Wednesday, January 12
Deadline for Entering Students and Officials

Thursday, January 13
District–Coaches’ Planning Meeting:

Tuesday, January 18
District–Future Problem Solving and Composition

Saturday, January 22
District–Assessment, Quick Recall

Wednesday, January 26
Deadline for Confirming Students and Officials for Regional

Thursday, February 10
Regional–Coaches’ Planning Meeting

Monday, February 14
Regional–Future Problem Solving & Composition

Saturday, February 19
Regional–Assessment, Quick Recall

Wednesday, February 23
Deadline for Confirming Students and Officials for State

March 18-21
State Finals – Galt House, Louisville – Schedule TBA

Start a Team
Get Certified
Buy Practice Questions
FAQs

Questions?

Don’t let your questions go unanswered! Give us a call at (502) 223-0088 or email us at [email protected].